Legal system in the US

All these legal cases against TVPad seem to be won via this so called "default ruling". I guess this means that TVPad did not contest the accusations in court. What I do not understand is how the US legal system allows someone (or a company) to sue someone else (or another company) who is not located or registered in the US.

Of course I could be totally off here if TVPad is registered and operating from the US, but if they do then they are amazingly stupid.

So anyone in here with the know-how regarding the US legal system ? I'm currently studying law just because I find it interesting (so a hobby), which is the reason of my question.

Comments

• Unfortunately I can't read Chinese. Do they answer my question ?
  • Google is your friend. The translation in English is as follows:

[Ming Pao News] Government specifically related to the Copyright (Amendment) Bill has set off heated debate society. Even sound everywhere, but beneath all walks of life to discuss the focus of suspicion. The key purpose of the revised draft is not for personal online activities, but for the promotion of infringing activity on the network, while the existing Copyright Ordinance currently unable to regulate transnational organized crime groups.

TV industry is a living example to the United States recently one case, for example, Chinese TV makers (central and TVB) from the United States Courts of TV set-top box manufacturers, "TVPad" injunction. The illegal occupation of the streaming service to television producers in Asia of the US market, so that it suffered heavy losses. However, if Hong Kong fails the Copyright (Amendment) Bill, you can not perform the same action. Therefore, consideration of the draft decision is not dragged on, people engaged in the creation of the required methods to combat organized and a commercial-scale infringement.

Users of Internet companies continue to mislead the public organization