Advice for Streaming Box for Napper

Hello,
I am new at third-party streaming devices. I was wondering if someone can recommend a box that runs well with Napper after I download it. Will some of those Android TV streaming boxes they sell at Amazon with Android 7.1 2GB RAM+16GB ROM work? Will a name brand box like Fire TV also work with Napper? Does anyone have suggestions on what brands you had good experience and which to avoid from your experiences? Thank you. :)

Andy
California
Tagged:

Comments

• padmanpadman Moderator
    I have one box coming from China shortly. I will do a review on how well it runs.

For the most part, Android 7 doesn't work well with the app.
  • Hi Padman,
    I noticed you have mentioned the Amlogic S905 Android Box. Nice to hear that you will have another review soon. Just for my information, which Android versions do you have a feeling it may not work well? According to some of the postings here, it seems Android 4.4.2 and 6.0.1 should work......is that how you look at it as well? It is my understanding Google will no longer support security patches for versions before 5.0.

Andy
    California
  • edited January 2018
    Android 6 or lower will work. I recently tried on this box
    https://www.geekbuying.com/item/MXQ-PRO--Android-7-1-1-Amlogic-S905X-4K-TV-BOX-2GB-16GB-385604.html
    It work although there's android 7 on it. This is $35 you can get it from geekbuying but shipping to you take some time since it's from asia
    Make sure the box that you buy has GPU of Mali-450

• Andy, if you already have the latest fire tv stick, it has the Mali-450 GPU as well you can try to use with that (i have not tested with this version of fire tv)
    Previous fire tv that i had didn't have this GPU so some channels have no video.
  • tomato123tomato123 Show Producer
    edited January 2018
    Link for $39.99 Cheap Android box:
    http://amzn.to/2BgK6N6